Snow’s Barbecue

12Jul10

My God in Texas. What a roadtrip.

I’ve been raised in Houston, and such was my barbecue exposure: Goode Company, Demeris, Pappa’s, Rudy’s, and during my college days Mikeskas and Ruby’s. Always with the same problem: dry flavorless brisket. It was a recent trip to California that I had some of the best brisket of my life, and I knew this couldn’t stand. I decided to do my research and find the best barbecue in Texas, declared by consensus.

And here I am. Partly on my personal quest to vindicate Texas and to see off a longtime Texas friend who was going off to law school out of state. The brisket. My God, the brisket. The ribs, sausage, pork shoulder are good, and in lesser places would be the highlight, but the brisket reigns supreme. The salty, smoky flavor permeates throughout the meat, which falls apart like Cuban ropa vieja. I had an Amadeus moment, wanting to scream to the heavens why and how they could get such flavor in such a cut of meat. Don’t even have to bother with the sauce. Too salty or fatty? That’s called flavor. Bread fixes that.

Best barbecue in the world? Most probably yes, but we shall see. City Market and Kreuz are next, but at this point, the brisket is one of the best things I’ve ever eaten. Ever.

Now for logistics:
Left Houston at 7:30 and got there around 9. There was a line out the door, and had to wait 15 minutes, but they only ran out of turkey (which I will try next time). I wouldn’t dare get there before 9 in any case. No biggie, you can always store the stuff in a cooler. It’ll still be good by lunchtime. Hell, by dinnertime the next day it’ll still be the best barbecue in Houston.

516 Main Street
Lexington, TX 78947
(979) 773-4640

No Responses Yet to “Snow’s Barbecue”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

